SSV East Alabama Is Making A Difference

East AL Ribbon Cutting 2014 5-6 (17)Still Serving Veterans’ East Alabama office in Phenix City may only be 3 months old but they are already making waves in the Veteran community. Check out what one Veteran had to say about their services:

“Mr. Livings,

I wanted to take the time to show my appreciation for everything Still Serving Veterans has assisted me with during my transition from the United States Army to the Civilian world. In May 2014 I attended a job fair at Fort Benning, Ga. at the time I was in the process of being medically discharged from the military due to service connected disabilities. Not having a clue of my future or what I should do to prepare myself you gave me your business card and let me know Still Serving Veterans was there to assist.

June 2014, I came to your office and was greeted by Jeremy Ellis whom took the time to get to know me and get a idea of what I was looking for as a Veteran. We discussed employment opportunities and preparation for my transition from a soldier to a civilian. Mr. Ellis took the time to rebuild my resume to attract employers by highlighting my military experience and education, and provided me with necessary resources (i.e What Color is your Parachute?) to understand how to be successful finding employment. Mr. Ellis also emailed me regularly with available job openings and asking if I needed assistance. After a few weeks struggling and realizing how difficult it was to find employment I began losing motivation and started to lose hope. Luckily Mr. Ellis contacted me to get a status, I notified him I had at that time been unsuccessful. Immediately I received a call from yourself and was directed to a open position.

Within 48 hours I was working and other doors had opened up for me. July 2014, After a brief period with the employer, I accepted another interview and received a conditional offer from a employer I was excited to work with. Not only did we reach the goal of finding employment but we were successful finding a position that has opportunities with possible career advancement and financial stability for my wife and I.

Also in July 2014, Wayne Knight provided me with assistance in applying for the post 9/11 G.I. Bill benefits and counseling on the process of applying and registering for College courses to further my education and career.

I am thankful for everything Still Serving Veterans and your staff has helped me with. I will continue to ask for assistance because my transition has just began but now has hope. I’m excited to notify current and future Veterans of the service that is provided.

Respectively,

Jose”

The East Alabama office serves the greater Auburn/Phenix City/Columbus area and focuses on employment services and connections to other community resources. Although the office does not yet have VA Benefits & Claims Assistance capabilities, clients in need of this service can be referred to the Huntsville office staff in which case meetings will be conducted over the phone or, in some cases, clients may be referred to a local Veterans representative.

If you a Veteran/transitioning service member, a Veteran dependent, a military spouse, or someone you know is and needs help finding employment, receiving VA benefits, or any other service please call or email Still Serving Veterans today:

Website: http://www.stillservingveterans.org
Email: admin@stillservingveterans.org

East Alabama Office (serves Auburn/Phenix City/Columbus area & beyond):
3601 C Summerville Rd., Phenix City, AL 36867
Phone: (334) 384-9111 | Fax: (334) 384-9112

North Alabama Office (serves TN Valley area & beyond):
224 Spragins St., Huntsville, AL 35801
Phone: (256) 883-7035 | Fax: (256) 883-7166

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

